Nebraska Stops Honoring New Jersey Concealed Carry Permit

As of February 1, 2020 Nebraska has stopped honoring the New Jersey Concealed Carry Permit. While we were unable to find any specific reasons as to why this change occurred, New Jersey has been moved to the list of states that do not meet Nebraska’s standards for acquiring the permit to carry a gun.

The Nebraska State Patrol website lists several other states that the Attorney General has determined to have sub-par standards (when compared to those standards in Nebraska) for acquiring the permit to carry. These states are as follows:

  • Alabama
  • Delaware
  • Georgia
  • Indiana
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Mississippi
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • North Dakota (Class 2 Permit)
  • Pennsylvania
  • South Dakota (Regular Permit)
  • Washington

It is said that former police officers will still be able to carry in Nebraska and HR 218 will still be honored.

Nebraska does not object of any persons from bringing their guns into the state while traveling through the state, but ask that the guns be unloaded, locked in a case, and inaccessible from any passengers within the car. This is a federally protected statute called 926A.

The rest of the states are generally considered to be approved states for reciprocity. The following states are on the approved list:

  • Alaska
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Florida
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho* (“enhanced” license only)
  • Illinois
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Nevada
  • New Mexico
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota (Class 1 licenses only)
  • Ohio
  • Oregon
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota (Enhanced permits only)
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia (§ 61-7-4 CHL only)
  • Wisconsin
  • District of Columbia.

Here is the current, up to date automatically changing New Jersey Reciprocity map:

While the states on this next list have some special requirements for the individual, like needing to be at least 21 years of age:

  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Iowa* (non-professional permit only)
  • Maine
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Oklahoma
  • Tennessee** (Enhanced Handgun Carry permit only)
  • Texas
  • Wyoming

Stay tuned for updates as we make every attempt to keep things as updated as possible. After all, CCW reciprocity laws are always changing. If you’d like to use our Reciprocity Map Builder, you can do so by pushing on that link.

1 Comment

  1. Mike on February 18, 2020 at 3:07 pm

    Stupid people make stupid laws.

Leave a Comment